sum + difference [disquiet0130-filteredmelody]

4 notes. 3 intervals of 3. then 12 pedals. Made mathematical sense, so the title references “An Individual Note” by Daphne Oram, this month’s Junto reading selection (I’ve only gotten as far as pg 50, tho). Image is my pedal board through a kaleidoscopic app.

Finally had an excuse to put my Pigtronix Infinity at the head of the effects chain.

D#–>F#–>Bb–>C#. “Melody” unresolved, though, as it’s meant in the key of B. There’s no B-note to be found, however, so it’s unsure if it wants a straight maj, a maj7 or a maj9. Otoh, it could also be taken as an arpeggiation in the key of F#, or as a melody over a modulation shift between B and F#. After listening to it for 10 minutes or so, I got mad at it for being so indecisive. And then mad at myself for being mad about something so silly. So I went in for a bit of pretty obliteration. “I throw it on the ground / because it’s stupid,” sang Lonely Island.

The notes and their indecisive infuriating interval eventually wend their way through merciful peripeteia (Pigtronix reverse/undo footswitch), carnivorous compression (EQD Warden), candied fuzz (Small Sound / Big Sound mini, Zvex Box Of Rock), grain silos (EHX Freeze, EHX Superego), chaotic stutter (Diamond Tremolo), 4 & 5 step arpeggiation (EQD Arpanoid), stereo ping pong (Line6 POD-xt), octave shifting (EHX POG2), tape delayed infinity (tc flashback), distant reverberations (Strymon blueSky) and a bit of rickety pitch/speed shifting, equalization and dither (on-board Acid mastering fx).

In any event, it’s just 4 notes. They meant no harm.



More on this 130th Disquiet Junto project — “Create a composition by altering an ongoing loop”

More on the Disquiet Junto

Join the Disquiet Junto

Disquiet Junto general discussion

%d bloggers like this: