Category: aired|reviewed|remixed

[live] 20201122 – The Return of Stryker West


My heteronym daydream cowboy Stryker West said it was high time for another country-fried set, so who was I to refuse? The covers here focused mostly on Texas, as tribute to a dear friend Taylor Rierden. Stryker neglected to play any Willie Nelson, however, and for that, he will have to atone with another set sometime soon.

SET LIST
00:30 – You & Tequila (K.Chesney)
04:50 – Love In This Land
10:05 – Jupiter + Tennessee
13:50 – I’ve Been All Around This World (J.Garcia)
19:05 – Don’t Touch My Willie (K.Fowler)
23:30 – Just A Little Insane
27:30 – Sunset Boulevard (C.Robison)
33:36 – Elizabeth City
38:34 – Sunday Morning Coming Down (K.Kristofferson)
43:16 – This Canyon Drive
47:50 – Down The Road (S.Earle)
50:40 – That Old Guitar

[vid] This Canyon Drive (Limelight.live performance)

Final song in my 30 April performance beta-testing the new Limelight.live music app. Happy always to work out a few kinks, and bring some melody to the current chaos.

well I’m climbing up this Canyon drive
high enough to see across time
to the days where you and I
had nothing to leave behind
up here, on this Canyon drive

a thousand feet up in the sky
on a one-lane two-way graded switchback ride
we opened up and saw ourselves from outside
and knew we wanted no other life
up here, on this Canyon drive

down in the Valley a relentless pursuit of dreams
in every shadow a sorrow and a scheme
a world designed to keep you from coming alive
far away from all the light that shines
up here, on this Canyon drive

what price wouldn’t you pay
to let nothing get in your soul’s way
to quiet dark echoes of unlived lives
at least up here there’s hope you’ll find
peace on this Canyon drive

[aired] Blue Skies over the Other Side of the End

St Clair Beach | Dunedin, New Zealand from Dip Creek Productions. [Vimeo | Twitter | YouTube]

A classic blue sky day here in Dunedin, New Zealand. Filmed on Tuesday the 25th of June 2019 in the middle of what has been a surprisingly lovely winter. We thought we would see if there was any surfers brave enough to catch a wave or two? We found one hearty soul! Conditions looked blustery out there.

Most of the shots in the video are filmed at St Clair Beach and the esplanade. As the sun started to set the views toward the end of the video are from St Kilda beach.

Music from Free Music Archive : Westy Reflector, “the other side of the end”

Callum McDonald, New Zealand videographer based in Dunedin, soundtracks a “classic blue sky day” in his home city with my track the other side of the end off my 2017 record cipher /e dreams [Bandcamp | Spotify].

This vid marks the second time Creative Commons licensing has taken my tracks to Dunedin, NZ. In July 2017, Since I Heard the Sun soundtracked a Thunderbird Trike ride on Dunedin’s Mt. Cargill Road. Xclnt to see a city to which I may never travel IRL from another angle.

———————————————–

SOURCE TRACK

[aired] Kites Riding Waves

[edit: Watch here. Playback disabled on external sites. Maybe that’s one reason the video only has 17 views a/o 23 June 2019… :^D]

medium.com mirror

Lac du Der ‘station nautique’ France.

Natuur en recreatie, genoeg te beleven voor een weekendje weg.
Ondanks het koude weer toch nog een uurtje gevliegerd met de Freilein.

Nature and recreation, enough to experience for a weekend away.
Despite the cold weather, still flying an hour with the Freilein.

Music: Westy Reflector – ‘Riding Waves’

The Internet is at its best when shared passions become community. When the net first started to gain cultural traction, smack was talked, of course, but digital space wasn’t a tool of division, so much as a journey of discovery and connections. It was a weird (in the best way) and wonderful window into what other people were thinking and doing, made even better when the most obscure and arcane pursuit saw a light of day in ways no other communication system in human history allowed. Net 1.0 was a network of tangible dreams built by concrete dreamers. The physicality of the network itself was way more evident, too: the iconic modem handshake sound; the wires into your computer; the relentless arrival AOL discs in your mailbox…

“You’ve got mail,” indeed.

It was work to get online, but a few dreamers did the heavy lifting and posted sites, or created and managed email listservs. All of a sudden, within a few years, anyone who did anything could find a critical mass.…

continue...

[aired] DaCaLuF.0349: Lonesome Faraway Puerto Perme

DaCaLuF – Saison 3 – Ep49 – Puerto Perme from David Bellais on Vimeo.

Première visite dans un village Kuna. (Panama)
Musique : Lonesome Faraway Sounds par Westy Reflector

Xclnt to find in my alerts another new DaCaLuf adventure soundtracked with a song of mine. Since 2014, videographer David Bellais‘s videos have been some of my fav CC uses. Pure joy of exploration and discovery…

source track:
“Lonesome Faraway Sounds” from my 2017 release, “cipher /e dreams.”

liner notes:
Dedicated to the memory of Berta Cáceres and to the ongoing effort to free Bassel Khartabil.
Update 2017.08: RIP, Bassel.

[aired] DaCaLuF 341 – “Love in This Land”

DaCaLuF – Saison 3 – Ep41 – Santa Marta from David Bellais on Vimeo.

Santa Marta (Colombie) avec les copains! (“Santa Marta (Colombia) with friends!”)
Musique : Love in this Land par Westy Reflector

Psyched to see a new DaCaLuf adventure soundtracked with a song of mine. Going back a few years (2014!), these videos have been some of my fav CC uses. Pure joy of exploration and discovery…

source track:

[aired] Between Stations: Yellow Dog Blues Backstory

Enlightening walk-through by Mississippi writer Suzassippi with some fantastic photos of the actual location where the “Southern cross the dog” in W.C. Handy’s Yellow Dog Blues.

In 2014, the Disquiet Junto participated in an NPR Studio360 project to record modern versions of Handy’s track in honor of its 100th anniversary. My track, Between Stations, “won” the event, and I ended up on air with host Kurt Anderson and musician Marc Anthony Thompson.

The Blues makes us aware of how the universe perceives harmony through our ears. Its “source material” is not so much sadness, but a universal alienation. Everyone fears loneliness from different directions. Handy’s song says to me, “There’s no use for home where you always lose who you are,” which was the launch point for my recording. Suzassippi lends wonderful visual, grounded context to all the tracks she highlights, and quotes me at the end of her article.

via: Suzassippi

Back a number of years ago, I first read about where the Southern Cross the Dog in a Farm Bureau magazine quiz. I had never heard of it, and it was an intriguing story about the town of Moorhead and the junction of the old Southern Railway system and the “Yellow Dog”–commonly thought to mean the Yazoo Delta Railway.

Winner: Westy Reflector cover of Yellow Dog Blues. Of it, the judge Marc Anthony Thompson said “I just wanted something that I really liked to listen to.” Westy Reflector said “no one in the story is in a fixed place” and “blues was never fully about composition as an end, but about a rich community of shared source material.”



continue...

[aired] Destination Bulgaria

Motorcycle ride through a Bulgarian countryside set to my songs Since I Heard The Sun and Infinite Destination. Always awesome to see asphalt and trees whipping through the frame as these tracks play.

via Cosmin Stoian youtube:

Published on Aug 31, 2017
Riders:
Bogdan – Honda Africa Twin CRF1000
Cosmin – Honda Africa Twin CRF1000
Deso – Yamaha Super Tenere 1200

Scenery:
Beklemeto Pass, Arch of Freedom,
Shipka Pass, Buzludzha Monument
Shipka Pass, Shipka Memorial
Bulgaria

Music:
Westy Reflector:
Since I Heard The Sun
Infinite Destination

[aired] Boom Chick NZ + Since I Heard The Sun

via Boom Chick NZ youtube:

Published on Jul 22, 2017
Welcome to the next episode of a seven day North Otago road trip that started on Waitangi Weekend (early February 2017). Today’s film continues the journey south of Evansdale, and on toward Waitati where we detour off the State Highway One and opt to head over to Dunedin via the Mount Cargill Road.

Mount Cargill Road is a narrow and often winding road, but the views down to the Otago Peninsula from the ridge line, make the detour worth it. Probably not suitable for large campervans, but easy for our nimble Boom Mustang trike.

Fortunately the rain cleared, leaving that fresh shower breeze and minimal traffic for the short run.

Enjoy the video. Feel free to comment.

You’ll find us on Facebook too: https://www.facebook.com/BoomChickNZ/

Music, with thanks:
SINCE I HEARD THE SUN
Artist: Westy Reflector
Source: http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Wes…

[aired] Hair Care Through The Looking Glass

My track Through The Looking Glass pops up in the critical scene (at the 27:00 mark) of a natural hair-care video by Puebla, Mexico graphic designer and lifestyle guru Debbie Yee. So xclnt when my songs soundtrack harmony with the Earth.

via YouTube:
Published on Jul 18, 2017
Finalmente mi primer video informativo sobre mi cuidado de cabello natural. Les muestro los dos métodos que utilizo actualmente: 1. Arcilla caolín y bentonita 2. yema de huevo. Actualmente me lavo el cabello cada 3 días y el lavado con yema de huevo es de una a dos veces al mes máximo.

Les cuento a detalle el porqué, el cómo y ¡todo el tema sobre la transición :O!
Espero les sea de utilidad y se animen a cambiar a un régimen natural de cuidado de cabello.

Finally my first informative video about my natural hair care. I show you the two methods I currently use: 1. Kaolin clay and bentonite 2. egg yolk. I am currently washing my hair every 3 days and washing with egg yolk is one to two times a month maximum.

I tell you in detail the why, the how and the whole theme about the transition: O!
I hope you find them useful and encourage you to switch to a natural hair care regimen.

—–

Les dejo el Link a la Apoteca:
Link to the Apothecary:
https://www.facebook.com/laapoteca/

—–

Por si quieres saber más de mí, encuéntrame en:
If you want to know more about me, find me at:
IG: https://instagram.com/debbieyeedice

continue...

[aired] Family Vacation + Windfall

via Carlin Trammel youtube

Published on Jul 4,2017
The Trammel family visits Atlanta in the summer of 2017. Hitting all the major stops along the way such as the Georgia Aquarium, Zoo Atlanta, The World of Coke, the Fernbank Museum of Natural History, and the Center for Puppetry Arts. Plus visits to other area establishments like The Varsity and Pallookaville!

Windfall by Westy Reflector is licensed under a Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Video copyright © 2017 Carlin Trammel

Carlin co-hosts the weekly podcast NerdLunch, centered on “pop culture, junk food, and more.”
http://nerdlunch.net
http://twitter.com/nerdlunch

[aired] Music To Ferment To

Puebla, Mexico graphic designer “with a non-stop anxiety bug” and organic lifestyle documentarian Debbie Yee takes a few of my songs on a journey to create the perfect homemade Kombucha.
Links to her universe below.

via YouTube:
Published on Jul 4, 2017
Hoy les cuento sobre la deliciosa bebida Kombucha, para que la conozcan, sepan cómo se hace (primera fermentación), para qué y cómo pueden llevarla a una segunda fermentación.
Today I tell you about the delicious Kombucha drink, so that you know it, know how it is made (first fermentation), for what and how you can take it to a second fermentation.

Si algún alma por aquí quiere un bebé scoby, ¡contácteme! Si están en algún estado de México, podemos checar métodos de envío ¡y listo!
If any soul around here wants a scoby baby, contact me! If you are in any state of Mexico, we can check delivery methods and you’re done!

Les dejo el link al frasco que compré en Mercado Libre:
I leave the link to the bottle I bought in Mercado Libre:
http://articulo.mercadolibre.com.mx/M…

—–

Por si quieres saber más de mí, encuéntrame en:
IG: https://instagram.com/debbieyeedice
FB: https://facebook.com/debbieyeedice
Twitter: rdyee
o si quieres conocer mi lado obscuro: debbielaagria

If you want to know more about me, find me at:
IG: debbieyeedice
FB: debbieyeedice
Twitter: https://twitter.com/rdyee
or if you want to know my dark side: https://twitter.com/debbielaagria

Astro:
IG: https://instagram.com/astrosupersonico

—–

Música:
“Since I heard the sun” by Westy Reflector
“King Jack’s 99th deam” by Westy Reflector
“Truth is a lonely place” by Westy Reflector
“Particle theory” by Westy Reflector

[review] insomnia radio: one city

Insomnia Radio’s Charles Stepczyk discovers my track One City and crafts an xclnt overview of my style. Always dig knowing what goes through someone’s head as they listen to my work.

“One City” comes from the 9 track LP, “Transient Lines” from New York City based indie-pop artist WESTY REFLECTOR. He wrote, performed and programmed all songs on this release from late 2013, described as “fragments and fractals of an enlightening, challenging year.”

His unique and powerful voice sits somewhere in the realm of old favorites Terry Prine or even Colin Meloy, but definitely distinctly unique with some beautiful and imaginative tales to absorb.

[aired] a song for a coat

Charlotte & George, an online British-French children’s fashion boutique based in Paris, opened its virtual doors in mid-2016. This past October, C&G’s owner Sarah wrote me seeking to use my track Since I Heard The Sun off Almost X (bandcamp | freemusicarchive) in a video showcasing a new “magic raincoat” they carry. Designed by British fashion house Holly & Beau, the coats change color in the rain (the “magic”). Sarah found my track via a Creative Commons license search (all of my music is licensed cc-by-nc-sa), requested permission for commercial use and made a lovely gesture asking whether I wanted compensation.

So what’s it worth?

I’ve been asked more than once, “Why aren’t you famous?” All I can do is shrug. Sometimes I answer “Because I’d rather you pick up the next round”; other times “It’s a punishment for refusing to use google as a verb.” The question I most get, though, is “What do you do?” I’m on the more weightless end of the what-you-want-is-in-the-limo success scale.

I’m obscure, not unknown is a fave affirmation. I’ve seen my tracks travel the world, and the simple release of a song has seen positivity and stories come back at me from strangers in random wonderful ways. But obscurity also means anyone’s finding my music, let alone spinning it, still isn’t a rational event.

So when people take time to let me know why or where or when they connect with a track, I’m always a bit mystified; not because someone thinks the track is supercalafradulous, but because my track must have been so supercalafradulous and the timing so right that, for a few minutes, all the clutter of this life faded away for someone listening.…

continue...

[aired] A Week In Outfits Under Elena’s Stars

via Harriet Pattison youtube:

Published on Oct 23, 2016
A little style diary for this week! It’s certainly been an autumnal one so it’s a mix of knit jumpers, blanket scarfs and ankle boots!

Which is your favourite look?

Item Links:

Outfit #2
Leopard Print Shoes: http://bit.ly/2dAwm2S

Outfit #3
Adidas Jumper: http://bit.ly/2eF5xYI
Leather Jacket (similar): http://bit.ly/2dTGHHs

Outfit #4
Jeans: http://bit.ly/2e0jelE

Outfit #5
Pink Jumper: http://bit.ly/2dYZkHa
Jeans: http://bit.ly/2e0jelE

Come say hi!

Blog: http://bit.ly/harriep
Instagram: http://bit.ly/hpinsta
Twitter: http://bit.ly/hptwit
Pinterest: http://bit.ly/2dbsMvx

Music: Westy Reflector – Elena’s Stars

Lots of love, Harriet xx

[aired] wrestling dreams

Moving use of a few of my ambient tracks by filmmaker Kenny Johnson in Wrestle Donst Wrestle (imdb), a 2015 documentary about independent professional (Absolute Intense Wrestling (AIW)) wrestler Tim Donst‘s battle to return to the ring.

Upon A Child’s Doll Reflection,” “Truth Is A Lonely Place,” and “Space Walk” (all Disquiet Junto projects, btw) well up at critical times in the film. No spoilers, of course, but the poignancy and melody they lend their respective scenes affirmed all the reasons I started writing ambient wordless work in earnest a few years ago.

Professional wrestling cuts a deep, diverse and cross-generational swath through America (the WWE represents only a glossy major-label equivalency), threading across many eras with stories of soaring courage, unabashed victory, gritted determination and dream-shattering heartbreak. The 2008 film The Wrestler with Mickey Rourke touched on these themes and conveyed a raw just-below-the-surface look at someone akin to Donst. Aside from that film, I knew almost nothing of Donst’s indie wrestling world as I hit the play button here. Now I can’t imagine our world without his.

Life outside the mainstream too often is marginalized to appear frivolous or inconsequential – struggles too “real” for popular consumption, perhaps. I feel a kindred spirit with Donst. In the way he wakes conscious with wrestling moves in his head, I wake thinking only of writing music. DNA isn’t just physical – it’s also spiritual. The moment you tap into what makes you you, life starts.…

continue...

Scroll Up