Category Archives: aired|reviewed|remixed


[aired] Dani B’s Dreamy Moon

moonrise time lapse by Hudson Valley artist Dani B. set to my “dreamy solace of rivers and bridges”

via YouTube:

Published on Aug 14, 2017
The moon passing by some trees.

Equipment:
Canon Rebel T1i
EF-S 55-250

Music:
Westy Reflector , Dreamy Solace of Rivers and Bridges


[aired] Boom Chick NZ + Since I Heard The Sun

via Boom Chick NZ youtube:

Published on Jul 22, 2017
Welcome to the next episode of a seven day North Otago road trip that started on Waitangi Weekend (early February 2017). Today’s film continues the journey south of Evansdale, and on toward Waitati where we detour off the State Highway One and opt to head over to Dunedin via the Mount Cargill Road.

Mount Cargill Road is a narrow and often winding road, but the views down to the Otago Peninsula from the ridge line, make the detour worth it. Probably not suitable for large campervans, but easy for our nimble Boom Mustang trike.

Fortunately the rain cleared, leaving that fresh shower breeze and minimal traffic for the short run.

Enjoy the video. Feel free to comment.

You’ll find us on Facebook too: https://www.facebook.com/BoomChickNZ/

Music, with thanks:
SINCE I HEARD THE SUN
Artist: Westy Reflector
Source: http://freemusicarchive.org/music/Wes…


[aired] Hair Care Through The Looking Glass

My track Through The Looking Glass pops up in the critical scene (at the 27:00 mark) of a natural hair-care video by Puebla, Mexico graphic designer and lifestyle guru Debbie Yee. So xclnt when my songs soundtrack harmony with the Earth.

via YouTube:
Published on Jul 18, 2017
Finalmente mi primer video informativo sobre mi cuidado de cabello natural. Les muestro los dos métodos que utilizo actualmente: 1. Arcilla caolín y bentonita 2. yema de huevo. Actualmente me lavo el cabello cada 3 días y el lavado con yema de huevo es de una a dos veces al mes máximo.

Les cuento a detalle el porqué, el cómo y ¡todo el tema sobre la transición :O!
Espero les sea de utilidad y se animen a cambiar a un régimen natural de cuidado de cabello.

Finally my first informative video about my natural hair care. I show you the two methods I currently use: 1. Kaolin clay and bentonite 2. egg yolk. I am currently washing my hair every 3 days and washing with egg yolk is one to two times a month maximum.

I tell you in detail the why, the how and the whole theme about the transition: O!
I hope you find them useful and encourage you to switch to a natural hair care regimen.

—–

Les dejo el Link a la Apoteca:
Link to the Apothecary:
https://www.facebook.com/laapoteca/

—–

Por si quieres saber más de mí, encuéntrame en:
If you want to know more about me, find me at:
IG: https://instagram.com/debbieyeedice
FB: https://facebook.com/debbieyeedice
Twitter: https://twitter.com/rdyee
o si quieres conocer mi lado obscuro: https://twitter.com/debbielaagria

Astro IG: https://instagram.com/astrosupersonico

—–

Música:
“You and everyone” by Portrayal
“Departures” by Portrayal
“Solecism” by Portrayal
“Never adjusted” by Portrayal
“Black waters” by Portrayal
“Universal Libraries” by Portrayal
“Rooms” by Portrayal
“Out of light” by Portrayal
“Back up plan” by The Berreracudas

“Through The Looking Glass” by Westy Reflector
“Month 2 month/ Love St.” by Connections


[aired] Family Vacation + Windfall

via Carlin Trammel youtube

Published on Jul 4,2017
The Trammel family visits Atlanta in the summer of 2017. Hitting all the major stops along the way such as the Georgia Aquarium, Zoo Atlanta, The World of Coke, the Fernbank Museum of Natural History, and the Center for Puppetry Arts. Plus visits to other area establishments like The Varsity and Pallookaville!

Windfall by Westy Reflector is licensed under a Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Video copyright © 2017 Carlin Trammel

Carlin co-hosts the weekly podcast NerdLunch, centered on “pop culture, junk food, and more.”
http://nerdlunch.net
http://twitter.com/nerdlunch


[aired] Music To Ferment To

Puebla, Mexico graphic designer “with a non-stop anxiety bug” and organic lifestyle documentarian Debbie Yee takes a few of my songs on a journey to create the perfect homemade Kombucha.
Links to her universe below.

via YouTube:
Published on Jul 4, 2017
Hoy les cuento sobre la deliciosa bebida Kombucha, para que la conozcan, sepan cómo se hace (primera fermentación), para qué y cómo pueden llevarla a una segunda fermentación.
Today I tell you about the delicious Kombucha drink, so that you know it, know how it is made (first fermentation), for what and how you can take it to a second fermentation.

Si algún alma por aquí quiere un bebé scoby, ¡contácteme! Si están en algún estado de México, podemos checar métodos de envío ¡y listo!
If any soul around here wants a scoby baby, contact me! If you are in any state of Mexico, we can check delivery methods and you’re done!

Les dejo el link al frasco que compré en Mercado Libre:
I leave the link to the bottle I bought in Mercado Libre:
http://articulo.mercadolibre.com.mx/M…

—–

Por si quieres saber más de mí, encuéntrame en:
IG: https://instagram.com/debbieyeedice
FB: https://facebook.com/debbieyeedice
Twitter: rdyee
o si quieres conocer mi lado obscuro: debbielaagria

If you want to know more about me, find me at:
IG: debbieyeedice
FB: debbieyeedice
Twitter: https://twitter.com/rdyee
or if you want to know my dark side: https://twitter.com/debbielaagria

Astro:
IG: https://instagram.com/astrosupersonico

—–

Música:
“Since I heard the sun” by Westy Reflector
“King Jack’s 99th deam” by Westy Reflector
“Truth is a lonely place” by Westy Reflector
“Particle theory” by Westy Reflector


[review] insomnia radio: one city

Insomnia Radio’s Charles Stepczyk discovers my track One City and crafts an xclnt overview of my style. Always dig knowing what goes through someone’s head as they listen to my work.

“One City” comes from the 9 track LP, “Transient Lines” from New York City based indie-pop artist WESTY REFLECTOR. He wrote, performed and programmed all songs on this release from late 2013, described as “fragments and fractals of an enlightening, challenging year.”

His unique and powerful voice sits somewhere in the realm of old favorites Terry Prine or even Colin Meloy, but definitely distinctly unique with some beautiful and imaginative tales to absorb.


[aired] a song for a coat

Charlotte & George, an online British-French children’s fashion boutique based in Paris, opened its virtual doors in mid-2016. This past October, C&G’s owner Sarah wrote me seeking to use my track Since I Heard The Sun off Almost X (bandcamp | freemusicarchive) in a video showcasing a new “magic raincoat” they carry. Designed by British fashion house Holly & Beau, the coats change color in the rain (the “magic”). Sarah found my track via a Creative Commons license search (all of my music is licensed cc-by-nc-sa), requested permission for commercial use and made a lovely gesture asking whether I wanted compensation.

So what’s it worth?

I’ve been asked more than once, “Why aren’t you famous?” All I can do is shrug. Sometimes I answer “Because I’d rather you pick up the next round”; other times “It’s a punishment for refusing to use google as a verb.” The question I most get, though, is “What do you do?” I’m on the more weightless end of the what-you-want-is-in-the-limo success scale.

I’m obscure, not unknown is a fave affirmation. I’ve seen my tracks travel the world, and the simple release of a song has seen positivity and stories come back at me from strangers in random wonderful ways. But obscurity also means anyone’s finding my music, let alone spinning it, still isn’t a rational event.

So when people take time to let me know why or where or when they connect with a track, I’m always a bit mystified; not because someone thinks the track is supercalafradulous, but because my track must have been so supercalafradulous and the timing so right that, for a few minutes, all the clutter of this life faded away for someone listening. When that happens, I am allowed to know someone felt what I felt as I wrote and recorded. I am allowed a crystalline connection between a perfect-something I wrote and a perfect-someone-else. For un-perfect flawed me, that’s the songwriting drug right there.

But what’s it worth?

Now, Almost X was my 10th record, and the last few years have been good. I’d been interviewed on NPR, made some best-of lists and connected with a slew of wonderful people who found meaning in my songs. That said, any indie self-released-one-horse-town knows your value is only as high as your last work. And let’s just say my 2015 record Sunrise Highway, well… underperformed. Whether that was fair or not, I’ll leave that to you, but it was loose, fun, full of crashing guitars and contained a few favorite songs that I finally recorded correct. But for some unknown reason(s), the record didn’t take as well as its predecessor, 2014’s sprawling clawing-at-the-world paean to justice, rights, escape, and love Particle Theory, which all my other records will always be judged against (a happy admittance). Sunrise Highway song There Goes The Sky ended up on some compilations and got a bit of airplay, but still, when Sarah’s note arrived, I had just released Almost X amid thoughts that maybe my recent successes were not a launch pad, but rather the world giving me the signal to stop — to go out on top, with my boots on.

Needless to say, my music almost never buys dinner. On the one hand, this is a liberation — I get to make whatever music I want. On the other hand, however, I’m hungry. The most difficult aspect of creativity is to keep any judgment on your art’s value to the world at arm’s length from any value you assign to yourself as a person. Asking me what my work is worth always ripples waves of confusion through me. It’s worth everything and nothing at the same time.

The desire for security and the feeling of insecurity are the same thing. To hold your breath is to lose your breath. 
Alan Watts, The Wisdom Of Insecurity (1968)

In any case, my insecurities notwithstanding (or perhaps with them overarching), I needed to name my price since Sarah actually contacted me about the track’s CC license restriction — most producers don’t. In the last few years, concurrent with my increased (albeit limited) exposure, my music’s popped up on random commercial youtube channels resulting in hundreds of thousands of views for which I’ve gained no ad revenue.

Now, the unauthorized uses do result in other views, more visits to official sites, word of mouth, and search-on-engine action. And every once in a while, a gilded soul will send real money my way via Bandcamp, iTunes, Amazon, or the “Tip The Artist” link at my freemusicarchive.org artist page. So I let it go. And direct record sales are a unicorn now, anyway. Through recent years most of the hard currency generated by my songs has come from streaming sites like Spotify, Rhapsody and Deezer(!?), in $0.0067 per-stream drips. (Yes, I receive regular accounting statements with line items in fractional cents). As a musician you achieve intimate acute awareness of the concept of a loss-leader, even if you never studied consumer-goods pricing strategies.

Sarah’s honorable request to use the track proved her integrity in this dirty-robot world. I thought about asking for cash, and if she’d offered whatever she believed it was worth to her, I would’ve given her my bitcoin address and left it at that. But, she left the assignation of value up to me, and sometimes there’s more value in being a conduit than a receiver. The coat looked genius.

“I don’t need cash,” I wrote her. “How about one of those magic coats for my nephew, Austin. His birthday’s coming up.”

“A song for a coat,” she chimed back. “That sounds perfect.” 

So there we netted out — she was free to use the song and I would receive a “monster magic raincoat,” size 5–6, to give to my nephew Austin for his birthday.

Charlotte & George’s video went out, garnered thousands of views on a couple of platforms for them, and a couple weeks later, a wonderful air-mail stamped package arrived from Paris in time for Austin’s party.

Rain was not falling on the day, but we tested the magic of the coat on Austin in my parents’ living room using a spray bottle, and he loved every second. Now, after wearing it a few times for real, he can’t wait for the next rain. The true magic in the coats, upstream, is in alleviating kids’ fears of inclement weather.

Win-win-win.

In the Internet’s highwire infancy (often in a 3-page business plan with one positive-linear-sloped graph on page 3), the World Wild-West Web promised infinite direct connections among people outside traditional entertainment, commerce and journalism channels. For artists, this environment promised a new economy around creativity, in which they would gain ever-increasing control of how their work is used and valued. 

“Are we there yet?” asked the musician and writer from the backseat in the way-back-when.

“Almost,” said the driver in the now. “But the future present won’t look much different. The old world was not displaced — just given blind spots. We’ll have to get even smarter. Open our eyes and ears a bit wider.”

In this story, I wrote a song and then a few months later the stars aligned to give my nephew a coat. My track became a future present. A fractal of a 21st century creative economy? Maybe, the future’s still here, lying in wait for a watershed. Or maybe just waiting on a magic coat to change your perceptions of the rain.

All the luck and fortune to Charlotte & George. If you’re looking for a well curated collection of kids clothing and a means to support a still-fragile, vital new relationship between art and commerce, they’re one click away.

story mirrored on medium.com

Source Track


[aired] wrestling dreams

Moving use of a few of my ambient tracks by filmmaker Kenny Johnson in Wrestle Donst Wrestle (imdb), a 2015 documentary about independent professional (Absolute Intense Wrestling (AIW)) wrestler Tim Donst‘s battle to return to the ring.

Upon A Child’s Doll Reflection,” “Truth Is A Lonely Place,” and “Space Walk” (all Disquiet Junto projects, btw) well up at critical times in the film. No spoilers, of course, but the poignancy and melody they lend their respective scenes affirmed all the reasons I started writing ambient wordless work in earnest a few years ago.

Professional wrestling cuts a deep, diverse and cross-generational swath through America (the WWE represents only a glossy major-label equivalency), threading across many eras with stories of soaring courage, unabashed victory, gritted determination and dream-shattering heartbreak. The 2008 film The Wrestler with Mickey Rourke touched on these themes and conveyed a raw just-below-the-surface look at someone akin to Donst. Aside from that film, I knew almost nothing of Donst’s indie wrestling world as I hit the play button here. Now I can’t imagine our world without his.

Life outside the mainstream too often is marginalized to appear frivolous or inconsequential – struggles too “real” for popular consumption, perhaps. I feel a kindred spirit with Donst. In the way he wakes conscious with wrestling moves in his head, I wake thinking only of writing music. DNA isn’t just physical – it’s also spiritual. The moment you tap into what makes you you, life starts.

YouTube liner notes

Published on Aug 16, 2015
In February 2015, Tim Donst told the independent wrestling world that his in ring career was possibly over. He had a tumor in his right kidney. His future was uncertain.

In this documentary, Donst reflects back on his career, his passion for wrestling, thoughts on death, talking with Mick Foley, and the road to recovery.

But was his career really over? Would he ever set foot in a wrestling ever again as an active competitor? Find out as he goes back to AIW (Absolute Intense Wrestling) and is confronted by the King of Ultra Violence Nick Gage.

***Twitter Plugs***
The Director Kenny Johnson – https://twitter.com/kenjohnson1028
Tim Donst – https://twitter.com/tdonst
Absolute Intense Wrestling – https://twitter.com/aiwrestling
Nick Gage – https://twitter.com/thekingnickgage
Eric Ryan – https://twitter.com/Ericryanpro/media
Greg Excellent – https://twitter.com/GregExcellent

Special thank to CZW, Chikara, and Mick Foley.

SOURCE TRACKS

Upon A Child’s Doll Reflection

Truth Is A Lonely Place

Space Walk


[aired] chasing an acting dream

Sandro Intervju from Oliver der Nederlanden on Vimeo.

Chasing Flight soundtracks an introspective interview with Swedish actor Sandro Khafor, shot by Oliver der Nederlanden and Magnus Lindkvist. Wish I knew Swedish, but the word for actor, skådespelare, is a sharp looking one.

source track:


[aired] DaCaLuF 02116: Yadz Soma

Small streets of Yazd. (Iran)
Music: Soma by Westy Reflector

Les petites rues de Yazd. (Iran)
Musique: Soma par Westy reflector

——————————-
The Bellais family from France (DAvid, CAmille, LUcile et Félix) is traveling around the world in a converted old fire truck for two years. They’ve used a few of my tracks in their video journal, and riding along, hearing my songs pop up every so often, is an absolute kick. Follow them here:

http://dacaluf.com
https://vimeo.com/channels/dacaluf
https://www.facebook.com/dacaluf

Source Track:






[track] europa sunrise [disquiet0236] (escaping earth remix)

extended remix of my contribution to the july 2016 disquiet junto’s collection of tracks saying “hi” in morse code to the juno jupiter probe…

original track here


[aired] truth is a lonely timelapse

Gorgeous timelapses of the Meinerswijk (Arnhem), Netherlands, countryside set to my Truth Is A Lonely PLace [disquiet0138] off Particle Theory (2014) [bandcamp | freemusicarchive]. Shot and edited by Netherlands photographer and filmmaker Floris van Loon (http://florisvanloon.nl).

Published on May 25, 2016
http://florisvanloon.nl
With this video no monetization is intended.

Music “Truth Is A Lonely Place [disquiet0138]” by Westy Reflector

The music in this video is released under
Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States
(CC BY-NC-SA 3.0 US)
http://creativecommons.org/licenses/b…

Download the track
freemusicarchive.org
bandcamp
soundcloud


[aired] DaCaLuf 0292: The Next Big Thing In Nairobi

DaCaLuF – Saison 2 – Ep92 – Parc National de Nairobi from David Bellais

Encore des animaux sauvages … yeahhhh
“More wildlife … yeahhhh”
Musique: The Next Big Thing par Westy Reflector
bandcamp | freemusicarchive

DaCaLuF – Season 2 – Ep92 – english subtitles – Nairobi National Park

——————————-
The Bellais family from France (DAvid, CAmille, LUcile et Félix) is traveling around the world in a converted old fire truck for two years. They’ve used a few of my tracks in their video journal, and riding along, hearing my songs pop up every so often, is an absolute kick. Follow them here:

http://dacaluf.com
https://vimeo.com/channels/dacaluf
https://www.facebook.com/dacaluf

Source Track:




there goes a london life…

Wonderful use of “There Goes The Sky” in a video diary by London artist Jenn Cooper, aka Psykotyka. When my songs travel around the world and report back, they fulfill their destiny.

Published on May 8, 2016
Lots of over thinking and staring at the ceiling…
Follow my journey on IG : @psykotyka
****************************************­*************************
Document Your Life is a video project that will hopefully make you notice the beautiful little things in the world, and inspire you to live your life to the fullest. The idea is to make a video each month, for which you film short clips of the things you’ve seen and done in that month.

Document Your Life Blog: http://projectdocumentyourlife.tumblr
Twitter: @projectdyl
Facebook Page: www.facebook.com/documentyourlife
****************************************­****************************
Music: There Goes The Sky by Westy Reflector

__________________________________________
find more of Psykotyka (Jenn Cooper) at:
Instagram
Facebook
Google+
Tumblr
Blogspot


Dacaluf 0277: Sunrise Highway Malawi

DaCaLuF – Saison 2 – Ep77 – Plongée dans le lac Malawi!

Un vrai aquarium ce lac Malawi!
Is it an aquarium ? No, only the awesome Lake Malawi!

Musique: Sunrise Highway par Westy Reflector
bandcamp | freemusicarchive | soundcloud

DaCaLuF – Season 2 – Ep77 – english subtitles – Diving at lake Malawi via David Bellais on Vimeo

——————————-
The Bellais family from France (DAvid, CAmille, LUcile et Félix) is traveling around the world in a converted old fire truck for two years. They’ve used a few of my tracks in their video journal, and riding along, hearing my songs pop up every so often, is an absolute kick. Follow them here:

http://dacaluf.com
https://vimeo.com/channels/dacaluf
https://www.facebook.com/dacaluf

Source Track:






Infinite Destination: A Story Of Us

Infinite Destination off Hola, Sayulita! (bandcamp | cdbaby | spotify | itunes) and Reflected.10×10 (bandcamp | freemusicarchive) finds perfect traveling companions in the writers of roughontheroad.com, an engaging, open-hearted chronicle of a wandering, motorcycle-driven life.

Motorcyclists gravitate towards my tracks for their videos. Hopefully they find in my writing kindred spirits of independence and open roads.

YouTube liner notes:

Published on Jan 23, 2016
We – Greg Stone and Jessica Ferndriger – are international aid workers and motorcycle travelers. We met in South Sudan, moved to Liberia, embarked on an eight month motorcycle trip from Canada to Chile, and we ride our BMW GS motorbikes daily for commuting and travel. Visit us at www.roughontheroad.com.

Music: “Infinite Destination” by Westy Reflector

Source Track:



La Sección Pirulo Saves The World

A Spanish-language podcast (out of Argentina? edit 03182016: confirmed!) called La Sección Pirulo has been spinning my tracks. In Episode 8 below, The Next Big Thing plays at ~06:10 and in Episode 9 below, Save The World (From Ourselves) plays at ~45:00. With my rudimentary ear for Spanish, I can infer the meaning of some of the comments after the tracks, leaving me with equal feelings of excitement and terror. I do love, however, hearing my name in a foreign accent. Language is one of the last tangible proofs of a world bigger and older than our technology. Context is everything.

¡Ya está aquí toda la alegría, el colorido y el ritmo tropical de La Sección Pirulo! En esta ocasión, Dave cumple con la amenaza sembrada en el episodio anterior con un repaso de por qué los cómics en los años 90 fueron tan horribles. Mientras tanto, Agropio nos cuenta de películas baratas de extraterrestres y revive algunos traumas, por momentos simultáneamente. Así que pegale una escuchada o no vas a tener de qué hablar el lunes en la oficina con lo pibe.

Hoy suena:
Tate Peterson – Ragtime.
Westy Reflector – The Next Big Thing.
Cory Gray – One-shot Charlie.
Heftone Banjo Orchestra – Policy King.
Nora Keyes – The Show is Over.

Agropio nos cuenta sobre La Historia Sin Fin (pero por un rato; en un punto termina) y Dave nos cuenta sobre el Comics Code (y eso que Dave no tiene códigos), así que básicamente, no se puede confiar en nadie… ¿o acaso sí se puede? La respuesta, en este emocionante episodio de La Sección Pirulo.

Canciones:
Minden – Something Small.
TV Girl – Lovers Rock.
Goto80 – Square and Enjoy.
Westy Reflector – Save the World from Ourselves.
Cory Gray – One-Shot Charlie.
Nora Keyes – The Show is Over.

————————————————————
Find La Sección Pirulo at:
Facebook: www.facebook.com/lasecciónpirulo
Twitter: @laseccionpirulo
YouTube: ../channel/UCtQ2lQQCN7T1bI95jaJlTNw
SoundCloud: soundcloud.com/la-secci-n-pirulo
Itunes: La Sección Pirulo

El podcast del mañana, hoy… pero ahora en video! Es lo mismo que el programa, pero ahora lo podés escuchar tranquilo en Youtube, donde puede que te quede más cómodo. Pirulo dando más posibilidades de que te diviertas y te entretengas. ¡Con lista de reproducción y todo!

The podcast of tomorrow, today … but now on video! It is the same as the program but now you can hear quiet on Youtube where you can stay more comfortable. I pirulo giving you more chances to have fun and entertain.With playlist and all!


[aired] Spin Dizzy Fall Goes The Sky

My track There Goes The Sky (freemusicarchive | bandcamp | soundcloud) goes on a Creative Commons adventure with a group of instagrammers and pro photographers in New South Wales, Australia, testing the Panasonic Lumix GX8. Beautiful people, dream-state locations, fog-shrouded wild horses and frenzied pelicans make this vid quadruple-xclnt.

Spin Dizzy Fall is 24yr old Sydney blogger, Emma Lucey. “Step into my world,” she entreats in her description. “Stay young, stay free.”

Lucey’s YouTube Liner Notes:

Published on Oct 20, 2015
A bunch of Instagrammers & professional photographers hit the road to test run the new Lumix GX8. Thanks for the fun trip Panasonic!

SPIN DIZZY FALL: http://spindizzyfall.blogspot.com.au/
INSTAGRAM: http://instagram.com/emmalucey
Twitter: https://twitter.com/EmSpinDizzyFall
snapchat: spindizzyfall

Disclaimer: This is not a sponsored video! However we were able to keep the Lumix GX8 from the trip which I continue to film on (see my video from Vanuatu as an example!).

MUSIC:
There Goes The Sky – Westy Reflector

Source Track:


DaCaLuF 0235: Sesriem Canyon Rage


DaCaLuF – Saison 2 – Ep35 – Sesriem Canyon from David Bellais

Le canyon de Sesriem (Namibie)

Musique: All The Rage (freemusicarchive | bandcamp) par Westy Reflector

——————————-
The Bellais family from France (DAvid, CAmille, LUcile et Félix) is traveling around the world in a converted old fire truck for two years. They’ve used a few of my tracks in their video journal, and riding along, hearing my songs pop up every so often, is an absolute kick. Follow them here:

http://dacaluf.com
https://vimeo.com/channels/dacaluf
https://www.facebook.com/dacaluf

Source Track:




[remix.reflector] Steve Burnett: Swellsandswells [disquiet0190-missedconnections]

Fantastic remix by multi-instrumentalist and sound artist Steve Burnett (Raleigh, US) of Zedkah‘s “Swells [disquiet 0189: tone layer]” with my C Swells [disquiet0189-tonelayer]. In Burnett’s hands, the combined tracks become synesthetic as his cosmologic expansion/contraction process fires all the senses at once. The forces at work here are extreme – too large and yet, also too small to comprehend, yet they resolve (evolve?) as human. Tres cool.

Burnett’s Liner Notes From Soundcloud:

I used Westy Reflector’s “c swells [disquiet0189-tonelayer]” and Zedkah’s “Swells [disquiet 0189:tone layer]” as they sounded best of the 0189 tone layer tracks when combined and compressed as I planned. Imported both into Audacity, copied both one-minute files out until I had a track exceeding 36 hours in length. I then used Audacity to change the tempo by one hundred thousand percent, as shown in the screenshot – creating a track just over two minutes long compressed from over 36 hours.
(Both of the original source material sound great when played at normal speeds, and I commend them both to listeners’ attention.)

Find more of Burnett at:
subscapeannex.com
twitter/steveburnett

Source Tracks: